IRAQ'S History in coins
Pre Arabic Liberation coins
Arab-Sasanian IRAQ mint
Umayyad IRAQ mint
Abbasid coins
Abu Al-Abbas Al-Saffah
Abu Ja'far Al-Mansoor
Al-Mahdi Muhammed
Al-Hadi Mousa
Harun Al-Rasheed
Al-Amin Muhammed
Al-Mu'tadhid Billah
Al-Muktafi Billah
Al-Muqtadir Billah
Al-Qahir Billah
Al-Radhi Billah
Al-Muttaqi Lillah
Al-Mustakfi Billah
Al-Muti' Lillah
Al-Tay'i Lillah
Al-Qadir Billah
Al-Qa'im Bi Amr Allah
Al-Muqtadi Li Amr Allah
Al-Mustadh'hir Billah
Al-Mustarshid Billah
Al-Rashid Billah
Al-Muqtafi Li Amr Allah
Al-Mustanjid Billah
Al-Mustadhi' Bi Amr Allah
Al-Nasir Li Din Allah
Al-Dhahir Bi Amr Allah
Al-Mustansir Billah
Al-Musta'asim Billah
Hamdanid IRAQ mint
Buwayhid IRAQ mint
Uqaylid IRAQ mint
Marwanid IRAQ mint
Fatimid IRAQ mint
Seljuq IRAQ mint
Zangid Iraq mint
Begteginid in Iraq
Lu'Luids in Iraq
Ayyubid in Iraq
Ilkhanid Iraq Mint
Sutayid in Iraq
Jalayrid IRAQ mint
Aq Qoyunlu IRAQ mint
Qara Qoyunlu IRAQ mint
Musha'sha' IRAQ mint
Safavid IRAQ mint
Ottoman IRAQ Mint
Ottoman Used in IRAQ
British India Used in IRAQ
Iraq Kingdom & Republic coins
Iraq-Kurdistan coins
Banknotes in IRAQ
Medallions in IRAQ
IRAQ Postage & Official Stamps
IRAQ Postal History
Blocks of 4
IRAQ Revenue Stamps
Revenue on Documents
Dealers you can Trust

The Abbasids defeated Umayyads in the Batle of Zap in north east of IRAQ in  year 132 AH, First Caliph was Abu Al-Abbas Al-Saffah ( Abu Al-Abbas the Assasin ).
The Abbasid Dynasty ruled for about 4 centuries, though they were not in total controle during all that period, in fact, most of the years between 250 AH- 450 AH, they had no real authority as they were merely Symbolic Rulers, can not exsert any real effect even within Baghdad's walls , their Fortress.
Their rule devided in muliple periods:
1st Period: Golden period, from Al-Saffah to Al-Ma'amoon
2nd Period: From Al-Mu'tasim to A-Muqtadir Billah
3rd Period: During which, the real rulers were
               C-Fatimid - for one year only -
4th period: Starts with Caliph Al-Nasir Li Din Allah who returned some of the old dignity to the Abbasids, and ends with the end of the Dynasty by fall of Baghdad to the terrible Mongol, Hulagu, defeating the last Abbasid Caliph,
Al-Musta'asim Billah in year  1258 AD, 656 AH.